Our hospitable and hotel is named after one of the 19th century South Palmyra’s most famous and respected women, Countess Roxandra Edling.

Who is Roxandra Edling?

Roxandra Edling (nee Sturdza) descended from a distinguished and respected Moldavian family Muruzi. The girl received a good education and was the personal maid of honor of Empress Elizabeth Alekseievna. During the years of service, she also gained great respect from the Emperor Aleksander I.

Traveling with the Empress in Germany, the girl met with the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Count Edling, whom she later married. The couple settled in the Manzir estate in Bessarabia (near Odessa), where the Emperor granted them 10 thousands land.

Thanks to the efforts of the Countess the once lonely manor in a deserted area soon turned into a model colony with numerous houses, a church, a school, and a hospital. The irrigation system created by her allowed keeping a successful farm: to breed vineyards and engage in sheep farming and then to develop cheese making and winemaking industry.

The Countess spent part of the year in Odessa where her welcoming home became the center of the enlightened society. Prince Vorontsov and his wife, and even Aleksander Pushkin himself, were often here. Kindness, love for others, insight and a keen analytical mind attracted both ordinary people and most famous minds to Roxander: Goethe, Zhukovsky…

Roxandra Edling, together with Elizaveta Vorontsova, created the Women’s Charitable Society in Odessa, which sponsored shelters, casual wards, canteens, and helped those in need. Such assistance was especially valuable during periods of cholera and plague epidemics.

After her death in 1844, the Princess and her family left a large cultural heritage to inhabitants of Odessa: libraries, monasteries, churches, museums, numerous charitable institutions.

The intimate Redling Hotel is built exactly on the site of the Odessa residence of the Edlings family, and therefore we gladly continue the traditions established by the Countess 200 years ago.

Why is it called Redling?

In addition to the fact that the name of the hotel is collected from the initials of the famous Countess, a kind of message to all guests is also encrypted here:

Rest means “to rest”!

Eat means “to eat”!!

Drink means “to drink”!!

LINGer means “to linger, i.e. to stay too long”!

Redling is a hospitable household where everyone feels at home. A place where everyone is always waited for and is always welcome where he can relax with comfort, enjoy delicious dishes and fragrant drinks. This is a place where you want to return again and again. This is the Redling Hotel. And it waits for each of you at any time of the year. Book a room!

Наш гостеприимный и радушный отель назван в честь одной из самых известных и уважаемых женщин Южной Пальмиры 19 века, графини Роксандры Эдлинг.

Роксандра Эдлинг – кто она?

Роксандра Эдлинг (в девичестве Стурдза) происходила из знатного и уважаемого молдавского рода Мурузи. Девушка получила хорошее образование и была личной фрейлиной императрицы Елизаветы Алексеевны. За годы службы она снискала также большое уважение самого императора Александра I.

Путешествуя с императрицей по Германии, девушка познакомилась с министром иностранных дел, графом Эдлингом, за которого впоследствии и вышла замуж. Пара обосновалась в поместье Манзырь в Бессарабии (вблизи Одессы), где император им пожаловал 10 тысячин земли.

Благодаря усилиям графини некогда одинокая усадьба в безлюдной местности вскоре превратилась в образцовую колонию с многочисленными домами, церковью, училищем и госпиталем. Созданная ею система орошения позволила вести успешное хозяйство: развести виноградники и заняться овцеводством – развить сыроварение и виноделие.

Часть года графиня проводила в Одессе, где ее радушный дом стал центром просвещенного общества. Здесь часто бывали князь Воронцов с супругой и даже сам Александр Пушкин. Доброта, любовь к ближним, проницательность и острый аналитический ум привлекали к Роксандре как обычных людей, так и самые известные умы того времени: Гете, Жуковского…

Роксандра Эдлинг вместе с Елизаветой Воронцовой создали в Одессе Женское благотворительное общество, которое спонсировало приюты, ночлежки, столовые, и помогало нуждающимся. Особенно ценной была такая помощь в периоды эпидемий холеры и чумы.

После своей смерти в 1844 году княгиня и ее семья оставили одесситам большое культурное наследие: библиотеки, монастыри, церкви, музеи, многочисленные благотворительные заведения.

Главным наследием графини является древняя православная Церковь Святой Марии Магдалины на 8-й станции Большого Фонтана. Уникальный храм, один из самых красивых в Одессе, был построен графом Александром Стурдза по воле и на средства его сестры, графини Роксандры Эдлинг, вблизи ее усыпальницы. Храм, расположившийся на высоком морском побережье, был сооружен по проекту известного итальянского архитектора Франца Моранди в 40-х годах 19 века и по сей день поражает одесситов и гостей города своей красотой и величием.

Уютный отель Redling построен именно на месте одесской резиденции семейства Эдлингов, а потому мы с радостью продолжаем традиции, заложенные графиней еще 200 лет назад.

Почему отель называется Редлинг

Кроме того, что название отеля собрано из инициалов знаменитой графини, здесь также зашифровано своеобразное послание ко всем гостям:

Rest – отдыхай!

Eat – ешь!

Drink – пей!

LINGer – задерживайся (в гостях)!

Redling — это гостеприимный дом, где каждый присутствующий чувствует себя как дома. Место, где его всегда ждут и ему всегда рады, где он может с комфортом отдохнуть, полакомиться изысканными блюдами и ароматными напитками. Место, куда хочется возвращаться вновь и вновь. Это отель Редлинг. И он ждет каждого из вас в любое время года. Бронируйте номер!